ADVERTISING-UL CA FORMĂ DE STREET ART

Alexandra BEJENAR

Abstract


The postmodern epoch represents, in the first place, a constant challenge to our cultural habits. This led to profound changes in our lifestyles, thus giving birth to new cultural forms which had been difficult or even impossible to predict a few decades ago. If we were to name just a few factors that influenced the latter situation, we would mention changes in technology (and the subsequent re-technologization of the Western culture), the innovations in democracy and the ubiquity of new media. The industry of advertising, like many other domains, had to adapt to these changes. My paper thus presents some of the most relevant developments in the relationship between advertising and street art; I am interested in analizing the ways in which the advertisers made profit out of the practices and features of contemporary street art (brandalism, graffiti in reverse, anti-establishment protests, freshness and vividness). The creative adaptation of the advertising industry now consists not only in elaborating and communicating messages, but also in anticipating trends and making use of their value.

Keywords


advertising, street art; graffiti; brandalism; antiestablishment

Full Text:

Full Text: PDF

References


AKBAR, Arifa si Paul, Vallely. 2008. „Graffiti: Street art – or crime?”. The Independent, 16 Iulie. http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/art/features/graffitistreet-art-ndash-or-crime-868736.html

ARIELY, Dan. 2010. Irational în mod previzibil. Bucuresti: Publica.

BABIAS, Marius. 2009. Nasterea culturii pop. Cluj: Ideea Design & Print

BANKSY. 2001. Banging your head against a brick wall. Londra: Weapons of Mass Distraction.

BANKSY. 2005. Wall and Piece, Londra: Century.

BARTON, Laura. 2008. „Hope – the image that is already an American classic”. The Guardian, 10 Noiembrie. http://www.guardian.co.uk/artanddesign/2008/nov/10/barackobama-usa.

BOOTH, William. 2008. „Obama’s On-the-Wall endorsement”. The Washington Post, 18 Mai http://www.washingtonpost.com/wpdyn/content/article/2008/05/16/AR2008051601017.html.

BOURDEAU, Anette. 2008. „It’s hip to be square”. Media in Canada, 12 Martie. http://mediaincanada.com/2008/03/12/vespa-20080312/.

BRENHOUSE, Hillary. 2010. „Marketing firms cleaning up with ‘Reverse Graffiti’”. The New York Times, 3 Iunie. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/06/04/business/energyenvironment/04iht-rbogad.html?_r=1.

CARTER, Helen. 2004. „Graffiti artist’s new form of art under fire”. The Guardian, 15 Octombrie. http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2004/oct/15/ukcrime.prisonsandprobation

HAGTVEDT, Henrik si Vanessa, M. Patrick. 2008. „Art infusion: the influence of visual art on the perception and evaluation of consumer products”. Journal of Marketing Research, vol. XLV : 379-389. http://www.business.ualberta.ca/en/Departments/MBEL/MarketingSeminars/~/media/business/Departments/MBEL/Documents/MarketingSeminars/2008-09/ArtInfusionJMRjune2008.ashx.

von VEILER, Pieter Paul. 2012. Cannes Lions 2004 – 2009. http://ppvonweiler.weebly.com/cannes-lions.html.

* * *

Art Republic. 2012. Street Art. http://www.artrepublic.com/art_terms/39-streetart.html.

Banksy. 2012. http://www.banksy.co.uk/outdoors/index3.html.

BBC News. 2005. Graffiti ads spark debate in US, 29 Decembrie. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/4567236.stm.

Blouin Art Info. 2011. Will ”Red Bull Street Art View” Give Street Art Wings?, 16 Februarie. http://www.artinfo.com/news/story/37015/will-red-bullstreet-art-view-give-street-art-wings.

Digital Buzz. 2011. Mountain Dew: Street art meets paintball, 26 Iulie. http://www.digitalbuzzblog.com/mountain-dew-street-art-meetspaintball/.

Graffiti Kings. 2012. Microsoft & the Graffiti Kings worldwide “I’m a Pc” TV advert – watch the video :), 20 Martie. http://graffitikings.co.uk/microsoft-the-graffiti-kings-worldwide-im-apc-tv-advert-watch-the-video/.

Green Graffiti. 2012. Amsterdam Police. http://www.greengraffiti.com/he/content/be-aware.

Green Graffiti. 2012. European Union. http://www.greengraffiti.com/he/content/biodiversity-2010.

Ogilvy Public Relations. 2012. Ogilvy PR Brussels honoured with a European Excellence Award 2010 for EU campaign on biodiversity. http://www.ogilvypr.com/en/press/ogilvy-pr-brussels-honouredeuropean-excellence-award-2010-eu-campaign-biodiversity.

Red Bull. 2011. Red Bull Art of Can: Inspired Recycling, 21 Aprilie. http://www.redbull.com/cs/Satellite/en_INT/Article/Inspired-Recycling-021243001231102.

Red Bull Music Academy. 2012. http://www.redbullmusicacademy.com/academy.

Red Bull Street Art View. 2012. http://streetartview.com/.

Street Love. 2012. New Zealand Police. http://www.streetlove.fr/graffiti/newzealand-police-become-a-cop-campaing.html?lang=en.

The Inspiration Room. 2009. Reverse Graffiti Project Green Cleaning, 6 Iulie. http://theinspirationroom.com/daily/2009/reverse-grafitti-project-greencleaning/.

The Telegraph. 2009. Is graffiti art? Public to decide. 1 Septembrie. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/6116779/Is-graffiti-art-Publicto-decide.html.

Tic Tac Micha. 2012. http://www.tictacmicha.com/

Unurth Street Art. 2012. The Fauxreel Interview. http://www.unurth.com/The-Fauxreel-Interview.


Refbacks

  • There are currently no refbacks.